

# Council (Annual Meeting)

# Wednesday 20 May 2015 at 11.30 am

# Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



### **ANNUAL COUNCIL**

## Wednesday 20 May 2015, at 11.30 am Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

### The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

#### MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Peter Rippon) THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Talib Hussain)

1	<i>Arbourthorne Ward</i> Julie Dore Mike Drabble Jack Scott	10	<i>Dore &amp; Totley Ward</i> Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	19	<i>Mosborough Ward</i> David Barker Isobel Bowler Tony Downing
2	<i>Beauchief &amp; Greenhill Ward</i> Julie Gledhill Roy Munn Richard Shaw	11	<i>East Ecclesfield Ward</i> Pauline Andrews Steve Wilson Joyce Wright	20	<i>Nether Edge Ward</i> Nasima Akther Nikki Bond Mohammad Maroof
3	<i>Beighton Ward</i> Helen Mirfin-Boukouris Chris Rosling-Josephs Ian Saunders	12	<i>Ecclesall Ward</i> Penny Baker Roger Davison Shaffaq Mohammed	21	<i>Richmond Ward</i> John Campbell Lynn Rooney Paul Wood
4	<i>Birley Ward</i> Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	13	<i>Firth Park Ward</i> Sheila Constance Alan Law Garry Weatherall	22	<i>Shiregreen &amp; Brightside Ward</i> Peter Price Sioned-Mair Richards Peter Rippon
5	<i>Broomhill Ward</i> Jayne Dunn Aodan Marken Brian Webster	14	<i>Fulwood Ward</i> Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	23	<i>Southey Ward</i> Leigh Bramall Tony Damms Gill Furniss
6	<i>Burngreave Ward</i> Jackie Drayton Ibrar Hussain Talib Hussain	15	<i>Gleadless Valley Ward</i> Steve Jones Cate McDonald Chris Peace	24	<i>Stannington Ward</i> David Baker Katie Condliffe Vickie Priestley
7	<i>Central Ward</i> Lewis Dagnall Robert Murphy Sarah Jane Smalley	16	<i>Graves Park Ward</i> Ian Auckland Steve Ayris Denise Reaney	25	<i>Stocksbridge &amp; Upper Don Ward</i> Jack Clarkson Richard Crowther Keith Davis
8	<i>Crookes Ward</i> Rob Frost Anne Murphy Geoff Smith	17	<i>Hillsborough Ward</i> Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond Josie Paszek	26	<i>Walkley Ward</i> Olivia Blake Ben Curran Neale Gibson
9	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Dianne Hurst Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea	18	<i>Manor Castle Ward</i> Jenny Armstrong Terry Fox Pat Midgley	27	<i>West Ecclesfield Ward</i> John Booker Adam Hurst Zoe Sykes
				28	<i>Woodhouse Ward</i> Mick Rooney

Jackie Satur Ray Satur John Mothersole

Chief Executive

Contact:

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services Tel: 0114 2734029 paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

#### PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at <u>www.sheffield.gov.uk</u>. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked \* on the agenda.

Recording is allowed at Council meetings under the direction of the Chair of the meeting. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

#### FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

#### COUNCIL AGENDA 20 MAY 2015

#### Order of Business

#### 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2. TO ELECT A LORD MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

#### 3. TO MOVE A VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING LORD MAYOR AND LADY MAYORESS

#### 4. TO ELECT A DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

(NB The meeting will adjourn following the appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor and reconvene at 2.00 p.m.)

5. TO APPOINT A LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

#### 6. TO RECEIVE NOTIFICATION OF CABINET AND CABINET ADVISER APPOINTMENTS, THE LEADER'S SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR THE DISCHARGE OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS, AND SHADOW CABINET APPOINTMENTS FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

Background report of the Chief Executive outlining the constitutional requirements regarding the discharge of Executive functions.

#### 7. ESTABLISHMENT OF COUNCIL COMMITTEES IN 2015/16 AND APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THOSE COMMITTEES

Report of the Chief Executive.

#### 8. APPOINTMENTS TO OTHER COUNCIL PANELS, GROUPS ETC AND TO EXTERNAL BODIES FOR 2015/16

To agree appointments in accordance with details to be circulated at the meeting.

#### 9. ARRANGEMENTS FOR COUNCIL MEETINGS

To agree a programme of meetings of the Council in 2015/16 and, in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 10.2, the formula for the order in which Notices of Motion will be listed on the Council Summons.

#### First Minutes

Sha Notherde

Chief Executive

Dated this 12 day of May 2015

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 3 June 2015 at the Town Hall